Divine Child girls fourth-best in Division 2 state cross country finals

The girl’s cross country team from Dearborn Divine Child made the best showing of Catholic League schools in the Michigan High School Athletic Association cross country finals last Saturday at the Michigan International Speedway.

The Falcons, this fall’s CHSL Division 1/2 champs, wound up fourth in the Division 2 team standings.

Making the Top 10 individual standings were:

  • For the boys, Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice’s Alex Miracle, sixth in team competition, ninth among all runners, and fourth-best among seniors in Division 1.
  • In Division 2, brothers Anthony and Michael Hancock were fourth and sixth respectively among all runners, second and third respectively among juniors.
  • For the girls, Ellie Kendell of Royal Oak Shrine came in third among all runners, but first among juniors.
  • Bloomfield Hills Marian’s Erin Siver was the eighth-best freshman runner, and teammate Maya Harb, the ninth-best sophomore.

Here are the team-by-team results:


Division 1

20th – Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice: 6th senior Alec Miracle 15:51.8; 61st sophomore Joe Shaya 16:44.4; 131st senior Jacob Hannawa 17:30.5; 133rd junior Joe Berg 11 17:31.6; 144th   sophomore Joe Kawka 17:41.5; 176th sophomore  Henry Moran 18:12.1; 183rd junior Mike Shaffer 18:18.0.

Division 2

11th – Dearborn Divine Child: 4th junior Anthony Hancock 15:48.5; 6th junior  Michael Hancock 16:02.8; 86th senior Oscar Hernandez 17:20.7; 115th junior Peter Ciarelli 17:48.1; 120th   senior Ethan Laszlo 17:49.8; 155th sophomore Shaun McGrath 18:25.6; 160th  sophomore Adam Polakowski 18:30.6.

Division 3

11th – Ann Arbor Greenhills: 35th senior Vincent Vermeulen 17:14.5; 57th senior Andrew Angold-Stephens 17:30.3; 79th senior Jake Zell 18:00.9;  89th junior Alex Allman 18:10.0; 92nd junior Alan Atkinsmith 18:11.6; 119th senior Nicholas Koh 18:37.8; 122nd junior Johnny Ellsworth 18:38.6.

27th – Madison Heights Bishop Foley: 106th sophomore Mitchell Mandziuk 18:26.5; 146th junior Jacob Rusch 19:00.8; 156th sophomore  Joey Kennedy 19:20.9; 158th junior  Owen Munk 19:24.2; 167th freshman Zander Munk 19:48.8; 183rd junior Anthony Marcopoli 20:43.6; 184th junior Kyle Kaczmar 20:48.1.


Division 2

4th  – Dearborn Divine Child: 28th senior Audrey Renaud19:37.3; 31st senior Kaitlin Murray 19:42.7; 42nd sophomore Erin Hegarty 19:52.9; 58th senior Lily Iaquaniello 20:12.8;  85th freshman Lyndsey Aho 20:47.0;  91st junior Haley Aho 20:51.8; 130th junior Brooke Aho 21:42.2.

21st – Bloomfield Hills Marian: 27th sophomore Maya Harb 19:36.8; 44th freshman Erin Siver 19:54.3; 103rd sophomore Ainslie Vanneste 21:08.6; 142nd freshman Isabella Agrusso 21:56.4; 163rd junior  Natalie Cleary 22:29.7; 177th junior Tess Mervenne 23:11.2; 182nd sophomore Regan O'Brien 23:42.4.

27th – Warren Regina: 62nd freshman Grace Zdankiewicz 20:18.6; 113th freshman Jessica Jarski   21:15.1; 132nd freshman Samantha Brown 21:45.3; 140th freshman Grace Audisho 21:54.8; 179th senior  Kali West 23:27.6; 184th sophomore Sabrina Kroll 23:51.2; 185th sophomore  McKenzie Witt 23:51.7.

Division 3

23rd – Allen Park Cabrini: 80th freshman Lily Heath 21:17.6; 90th senior Mikayla Trumbla 21:37.0; 122nd freshman Ania Ghazzawi 22:18.6; 139th freshman Angel Ghazzawi 22:47.1; 162nd sophomore Alana Maffesoli 24:00.0; 167th senior Erin O'Neil 24:13.1; 169th sophomore Meghan Carr  24:18.1.

27th  – Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett: 101st junior Maggie Dunn 21:49.0; 123rd freshman Gracie Gorier-LaParl 22:21.9; 153rd freshman Emilia Bronk 23:31.2; 158th junior   Margaret Hartigan 23:50.0; 160th sophomore Sophia Ma 23:52.5; 180th junior Ava Henness 25:38.3.

Division 4

18th –  Royal Oak Shrine: 3rd junior Ellie Kendell 19:13.1; 75th junior Anna Murphy 22:27.4; 79th freshman Clara Losey 22:35.6; 139th junior Caroline Colby 24:22.0; 143rd senior Briege Flood   24:23.2; 145th senior Mia Ciarlone 12 24:25.9; 149th sophomore Katherine Mutschler 24:34.1.

25th – Clarkston Everest Collegiate: 68th sophomore Theresa Waller 22:17.9; 71st freshman Avery Herrgott 22:21.9; 112th freshman Erin Booms 23:31.7; 136th junior Kate Funke     24:16.9;  142nd juior Gabrielle Lazzara 24:22.3; 154th senior Kirsty Liu 24:51.0; 169th junior Molly Milosch  25:40.5.